[widgetkit id=251]

Solomon Islands is a South Pacific nation consisting of over 900 islands. The nation’s capital and largest city is Honiara, which is located on an island called Guadalcanal. Other large urban areas include Auki, Gizo, and Buala. The nation is nowadays a constitutional monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as head of state. The Queen is represented by a local Governor, appointed by the Parliament. The population is estimated at 530,000.

Solomon Islands features a ocean-equatorial climate with few variations in temperature. Theoretically, there are two seasons, with the period between June and August being the coolest, but the seasons are not particularly pronounced. The landscape is dominated by rain forests, as well as a few dormant and active volcanoes. The two most active volcanoes are Tinakula and Kavachi.

Most of the country’s population is engaged in fishing activities. Solomon Islands is classified as a lesser developed country, and its economy is mainly sustained by the agriculture and tourism sectors. Main exports include timber, palm oil, and copra. Although the country is rich in mineral resources, such as gold or zinc, these exports have fallen over the past few years. Recently, the Islands have restarted exporting live dolphins, despite international criticism. The local currency is the Solomon Islands dollar (SBD).

Although English is the only official language as covered by the Constitution, only about 2% of the population speaks it. The most widely-spoken language across the country is the Solomon Pijin. In total, there are 74 local languages. 


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Similar Posts
Latest Posts from The International Wanderer