[widgetkit id=188]

Gaining independence after the collapse of Yugoslavia in 1991, Slovenia is among the youngest countries in Europe. It is bordered by Italy, Hungary, Austria and Croatia and also has 24 miles of coast on the Adriatic Sea. Slovenia is the meeting point of four major regions: the Dinaric area, the Pannonia plain, the Alps and the Mediterranean.

A characteristic landmark of the country is the Triglav, a three-peaked mountain represented on the nation’s flag. It is also the highest point in the country. Another feature of Slovenia is the broad Karst belt extending from Ljubljana straight to the Italian border. The underground system of caves in Postojna, are home to the beautifully sculptured stalactites and stalagmites. The first visitors to these caves come in 1213, if the graffiti in the caves is anything to go by.

Slovenia is essentially a mountainous country, with roughly 50% of it covered in forests. Nearly 43% of the land is utilized for cultivation of pastures, vineyards and orchards. Natural resources found in the country include lead, zinc, coal lignite, building stone, Hydropower, building stone and forests.

The Slovenia offers its visitors wide ranging terrains so they can enjoy a little of everything. The rivers and mountains in the north offer opportunities of skiing, hiking, rafting, kayaking, and biking. The southern region has the Karst and there is a variety of spas in the eastern region. Some cities worth visiting include Ljubljana the tiny capital city, Maribor the second largest city, and Celje the oldest city.


Fast Facts

Government:  Parliamentary Constitutional Republic

Religion:  Roman Catholic

Language:   Slovene

Total Area:  7,827 sq mi (20,273 sq km)

Currency:  Euro (EUR)

Calling Code:  386

Ethnicity:  Slovenes, Serbs, Croats & Bosnian


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Similar Posts
Latest Posts from The International Wanderer