[widgetkit id=225]

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) is an island notion situated in the Western Pacific Ocean, comprising a little over 600 islands. It is comprised of four states: Chuuk, Kosrae, Yap, and Pohnpei. Pohnpei is home to the nation’s capital, Palikir, while Chuuk is home to the largest city, Weno. Each of the states has its own governor and administrative capital. The population is a little over 100,000 people, according to the 2013 estimate. While the official name of the nation is FSM, Micronesia is also a term used to define a sub-region of Ocean, comprising several thousand islets.

The FSM has a tropical climate, characterized by heavy rainfall and winds. Fishing and subsistence farming are the main contributors to the nation’s economy. The main source of revenue is represented by financial assistance on behalf of the United States. The growth of tourism, while possible and lucrative in theory, is impeded by a lack of adequate infrastructure and the remote location of the nation. FSM’s major exports are represented by marine products and the sale of fishing licenses. The local currency is the United States Dollar (USD).

There are 7 official languages in the FSM: English, Pohnpeian, Yapese, Chuukese, Kosraen, and Woleaien. There are 9 other local languages, which, while not official, are widely spoken by the population. The FSM is home to several World War II battle sites, as well as several hot-spots for scuba diving enthusiasts. 


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Similar Posts
Latest Posts from The International Wanderer