[widgetkit id=133]

American Samoa, formerly known as East Samoa, is an unincorporated region of the USA located in the South Pacific Ocean, east of the Independent State of Samoa. American Samoa is considered an unincorporated territory because, although it is governed by the USA, only fundamental rights are guaranteed by the American law. While the head of state is the American president, a local governor is in charge with the administration of the territory. The more than 55,000 people living in American Samoa are considered American nationals, but not citizens, unless one or both their parents are American citizens. Since 2012, there have been debates whether American Samoa should transition to autonomy or even independence.


American Samoa comprises 5 volcanic islands and 2 coral atolls. Only one of the atolls, Rose Atoll, is uninhabited and considered a national monument. Out of the five islands, Tutuila is the largest. The capital of American Samoa is Pago Pago, while the largest city is Tafuna.

The tuna canning industry is the most developed sector of American Samoa’s economy, and the territory’s main exports are represented by tuna products, with the USA being the main trading partner. American Samoans who do not work in the tuna canning industry are employed in either the public or private sector. The local currency is the United States dollar (USD).

There are two official languages in Samoa: English and Samoan. The most popular sports in the region are Samoan cricket and American football.


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Similar Posts
Latest Posts from The International Wanderer