[widgetkit id=137]

The Azerbaijan Democratic Republic is an Asian country located in the Caucasian region. The nation, which gained its independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, has a population of a little over 9,300,000 people. The capital and largest city is Baku. Other large cities include, in order: Ganja, Sumqayit, Mingachevir, and Lankaran. Azerbaijan is a dominant party presidential state, and the governing powers are divided into three branches: legislative, executive, and judicial.

Azerbaijan’s economy is largely dependent on the oil industry. Other important sectors of the economy are represented by tourism and agriculture. Approximately half of Azerbaijan’s entire surface is agricultural lands. The country’s major exports include natural gas and petroleum, oilfield equipment, iron ore, steel, cement, petrochemicals, machinery, cotton, and textiles. The local currency is the Manat (AZN).


Azerbaijan has a very diverse climate, as it features nine out of the eleven existing climatic zones. Azerbaijan has a very rich and diverse flora and fauna and its national animal is the Karabahk horse, a racing and riding horse that is endemic to the region.

The only official language in the nation is Azerbaijani, a language belonging to the Turkic family. Numerous other local languages are widely spoken throughout the country, such as Avar, Georgian, Juhuri, or Udi. Russian and English are the most common second languages. The most popular sports in the country are chess and football, although freestyle wrestling is considered to be the national sport.


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Similar Posts
Latest Posts from The International Wanderer