[widgetkit id=74]

The Commonwealth of Bahamas is an island nation situated in the Atlantic Ocean. The nation comprises over 700 islands, islets, and cays. Its capital and largest city is Nassau, which is located on an island called New Providence. Other large cities include, in order: Freeport, West End, and Coopers Town. The largest island is Andros. According to the last census, over 350,000 people live in the Bahamas territory.  

Bahamas is a parliamentary monarchy with the current head of state being Queen Elizabeth II, who is represented by a local governor. The local politic system is largely represented by two parties.

Bahamas’ climate varies between tropical and subtropical and hurricanes are not an uncommon occurrence. Both sea and air temperatures vary slightly throughout the year, but rainfall tends to vary according to season.


The Bahamas has one of the strongest economies in the West Indies, mainly due to the intense tourism in the region. More than half of the nation’s workforce is employed in tourism. Financial services also represent an important economic sector. Major exports are represented by rum, salt, fruit, vegetables, and animal products. The local currency is the Bahamian dollar (BSD). Nonetheless, the United States dollar (USD) is also widely accepted. Income, corporate, and value added taxes are not enforced in the Bahamas.

The only official language is the Bahamas is English, but many residents speak a local version of it, called the Bahamian dialect. The country’s national sport is sailing.


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Similar Posts
Latest Posts from The International Wanderer