[widgetkit id=207]

French Guiana is an overseas region belonging to France, located on the Northern coast of South America. Most of its almost 240,000 people live in the metropolitan area of the capital, Cayenne.  Other large cities include Matoury and Kourou. The only official language in the region is French, but there are several other languages spoken, including Dutch, English, Creole, and a few Amerindian languages.

The local head of government is called a prefect and is appointed by the President of France. The head of state is represented by the latter, while the head of government is the French Prime Minister. In terms of surface, French Guiana is the largest overseas region of France and the largest landmass located outside of Europe that is a member of the EU.

Because it is a region of France, French Guiana is a member of the European Union and its local currency is the Euro. The region’s economy is largely dependent on France, especially in what concerns manufacturing, trade, and goods. Nonetheless, French Guiana is home to the Guiana Space Centre, which also is a big contributor to the local economy. Major exports include sugar cane and fish. Tourism, and in particular eco-tourism, is a developing industry in French Guiana.

The region’s climate is hot and humid tropical, with little variations in terms of temperature from one season to another. French Guiana features six nature reserves, as well as a national park, the Guiana Amazonian Park.


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Similar Posts
Latest Posts from The International Wanderer