[widgetkit id=127]

The Comoros archipelago is located in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Mozambique. The archipelago is made of four islands namely, Grande Comoro, Anjouan, Mehli and Mayotte. However, Mayotte has maintained ties with France and is not a part of the country. Like many Oceanic islands, the archipelago is of volcanic origin. Its population is in the range of 800,000 and the capital city Moroni is located on the largest island Grand Comoro.

Comoros Climate and Wildlife

The terrain inland on most islands varies from low hills to steep mountains. The climate is tropical marine climate with a rainy season that runs from November to May. The country has many beautiful beaches that draw many tourists annually. The island of Mayotte also has a very beautiful lagoon.

Comoros People and Language

The official languages of Comoro are Arabic and French. In addition to these, Comorans also speak Shikomoro a language that is a blend of Arabic and Swahili.


Other Facts about Comoros

The islands are sometimes fondly referred to as the perfume islands. Comoros has suffered a chronic problem of instability and has experienced over 20 coups since 1975. Due to the instability, there have been repeated efforts to restore French rule in the country. The country had peaceful elections in 2010 that ushered n leader selected by the majority. The island was frequented by travellers from Indonesia, Arabia and Africa long before Europeans arrival in the mid 1800’s. A significant portion of the land is arable (over 40%) and subsistence agriculture including fishing and hunting contributes 50% of the GDP. Due to prolonged conflict, Comoros is very poor. The three main export crops on the islands are Vanilla, cloves and ylang-ylang. The majority of its inhabitants are rural.


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Similar Posts
Latest Posts from The International Wanderer