If you wish to travel to Luxembourg:

  • on a business trip
  • to holiday
  • study
  • intern
  • volunteer
  • work
  • or to immigrate

Then check out the relevant pages about Luxembourg on this website.


Luxembourg is a Schengen area country. The Schengen Area comprises of 26 European countries that have eliminated passport and immigration controls at their common borders. The Schengen Area operates as a one country state (with a common visa policy) for the purposes of international travel purposes. With a Schengen visa, you may enter one country and travel freely throughout the Schengen zone. For more information see: Schengen Visa Information

Passport holders from a number of other countries are permitted to enter Luxembourg without a visa and stay for up to three months. A list of these countries can be found here: Luxembourg Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Citizens of the European EFTA and EEA Member Countries do not require a visa or work permit in order to work and live in Luxembourg.

If you are not a European Union country passport holder then you will need to apply for the appropriate work and residency permits. The employer wishing to hire you must apply for the work permit on your behalf. If you wish to engage in voluntary work of a short term nature then you do not need a permit for this.

For more information see Luxembourg Ministry of Foreign Affairs

We also suggest that you contact the nearest consulate or embassy of the country you wish to visit to ensure you have the most recent and accurate information.


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Similar Posts
Latest Posts from The International Wanderer